Q.Do I have to report all new employees to the EDD?
A.In 1996, the federal government passed a law requiring all states to establish a "Directory of New Hires." In California, as in all other states, employers are required to provide the following information to the appropriate state agency within 20 days of hiring a new employee:
- the employee's full name, home address, social security number, and start date; and
- the employer's business name, contact person, business address, business telephone, and federal EIN
Failure to provide the above information may lead to the assessment of a penalty of $24 for each failure to report.
You can download a copy of California's New Hire DE-34 Form here which must be submitted to the California Employment Development Department.